flower booking

Mike Krol
In bowling’s hallowed alleys, a strike is the minor miracle of all ten pins falling at once. Back-to-back strikes make a double. Do it a third time and you’ve got yourself a turkey.

History will decide which sports metaphor to apply to Mike Krol’s first two records, I Hate Jazz (2011) and Trust Fund (2013). But as needle meets groove on Turkey—Krol’s first record for Merge—there is no ambiguity. A shiny black ball tumbles past the suburban strip malls of a polyestered Wisconsin and veers precariously close to an East Coast gutter before gathering momentum in a physics-defying sprint for the Pacific. California is where the headpin falls—the right velocity, the perfect geometry, the bowler’s intent beautifully realized in a noisy moment of awesome destruction.

Mike Krol got his bike stolen and his heart broken. He bailed on graphic-design-as-career. He kept playing drums and guitars, and he kept writing songs about the stuff he hated and the stuff he loved. Leaving Milwaukee for Los Angeles, he took a few years’ worth of wrong turns. But when he showed up at a studio in Sacramento in March 2014, he had his affairs in order. Plug the vocal mic into a guitar amp. Plug the guitar into an overheating box of vacuum tubes. Put the computer in the closet. Roll the tape.
Mike Krol
In bowling’s hallowed alleys, a strike is the minor miracle of all ten pins falling at once. Back-to-back strikes make a double. Do it a third time and you’ve got yourself a turkey.
+ more bio

Tour Dates
Date Location Venue
08/01/18 Wed San Diego, CA The Whistle Stop Bar with Swearin
08/02/18 Thu Los Angeles, CA Highland Park Ebell with Swearin
08/03/18 Fri San Jose, CA The Ritz with Swearin
08/05/18 Sun Seattle, WA Chop Suey with Swearin
08/06/18 Mon Vancouver, BC, Canada The Fox Cabaret with Swearin
08/07/18 Tue Portland, OR Doug Fir Lounge with Swearin
08/09/18 Thu San Francisco, CA Rickshaw Stop with Swearin
08/10/18 Fri Fresno, CA Strummers with Swearin
08/11/18 Sat Pioneertown, CA Pappy And Harriets with Swearin
09/12/18 Wed Denver, CO Hi Dive
09/13/18 Thu Omaha, NE Reverb Lounge
09/14/18 Fri Dubuque, IA The Lift
09/15/18 Sat Milwaukee, WI Bay View Bash Bay View Bash
09/15/18 Sat Milwaukee, WI The Cactus Club
09/17/18 Mon Chicago, IL Empty Bottle
09/18/18 Tue St Louis, MO The Monocle
09/19/18 Wed Lawrence, KS Replay Lounge
09/21/18 Fri Tucson, AZ CANS Deli
Avails
Generally Available:To Support
Submit an inquiry
Contacts
Responsible Agent:
Mahmood Shaikh
Publicity:
Christina Rentz