flower booking

OHMME
Already celebrated as the “Heart of Chicago’s Music Community” (Noisey) by both fans and tastemakers alike, OHMME (aka the duo of Sima Cunningham and Macie Stewart) amalgamate the aggressive and the meditative on their bold debut full-length album, Parts.

Still in their 20s, Stewart and Cunningham are both classically trained musicians and are established players within the Chicago music scene. They are especially involved in performing and working for venues within the local experimental music scene. They’re constant collaborators and have recorded and toured with homegrown acts as varied as Tweedy, Whitney, Chance The Rapper and Twin Peaks.

Cunningham and Stewart are multi-instrumentalist, singer-songwriters with a penchant for two instruments in particular. "The band started because we knew we could sing well together and we wanted to make some noise with the guitar,” says Cunningham. Stewart elaborates, “Sima and I are both trained classical pianists and we know many of the sonic spaces keyboards have to offer. Since we were interested in experimenting and creating something different from what we had both done in the past, we chose guitar as our outlet for this band. We wanted to create both new and uncomfortable parameters for ourselves to force us into a different creative space.” These guitar-heavy experiments are sometimes earthy and resounding, at other times shimmering and buzzing—swirling around the duo's expertly crafted vocals while creating a chaotic bed of harmony. Cunningham's smoky alto complements Stewart's higher-register croon, all underpinned by the restrained yet highly inventive polyrhythmic percussion of drummer Matt Carroll. Think Amber Coffman and Angel Deradoorian-era Dirty Projectors.

Enlisting fellow Chicago cohorts Doug McCombs (Tortoise), Ken Vandermark and cellist Tomeka Reid, OHMME recorded and self-produced Parts from Cunningham’s Logan Square home studio, Fox Hall. With Parts, OHMME "wanted to capture a moment in time instead of something perfect.” The results are thrilling: from the pure pop opening track “Icon” to the candied sludge of "Peach" to the skipping rhythms of "Parts" and the dusky closer "Walk Me," Parts draws from influences as diverse as Kate Bush and Brian Eno's Here Come the Warm Jets to jazz and improvisational music, making for an electric debut listening experience.

This range from sweetly shiny 2-minute hypnotic bangers to woozy and sprawling 7-minute long tracks boasting moodily atmospheric wafting guitars and piercing feedback shows a band colliding thoughtfulness and creative ingenuity to produce music as unique as it is earworm-worthy. With Parts, OHMME manage to organically marry a breadth of divergent styles into an album that is cohesive, daring, and distinctly their own.
OHMME
Already celebrated as the “Heart of Chicago’s Music Community” (Noisey) by both... + more bio

Tour Dates
Date Location Venue
08/17/18 Fri New York, NY Bryant Park Emerging Music Festival
08/25/18 Sat Chicago, IL Thalia Hall
08/26/18 Sun Detroit, MI Deluxx Fluxx
08/27/18 Mon Toronto, ON, Canada The Monarch
08/28/18 Tue Montreal, QC, Canada Casa Del Popolo
08/29/18 Wed Burlington, VT ArtsRiot
08/30/18 Thu Allston, MA Great Scott
08/31/18 Fri Portsmouth, NH 3S Artspace
09/01/18 Sat Philadelphia, PA The Boot & Saddle
09/02/18 Sun Washington, DC Black Cat Backstage
09/03/18 Mon Richmond, VA Strange Matter
09/05/18 Wed Birmingham, AL The Firehouse
09/06/18 Thu New Orleans, LA Gasa Gasa
09/07/18 Fri Austin, TX Mohawk
09/08/18 Sat San Antonio, TX Paper Tiger
09/10/18 Mon Tucson, AZ Club Congress
09/11/18 Tue Los Angeles, CA The Echo
09/12/18 Wed San Francisco, CA Rickshaw Stop
09/14/18 Fri Portland, OR Kelly's Olympian
09/15/18 Sat Vancouver, BC, Canada The Fox Cabaret Westward Festival
09/16/18 Sun Seattle, WA Barboza
09/17/18 Mon Boise, ID Neurolux
09/18/18 Tue Salt Lake City, UT Kilby Court
09/19/18 Wed Denver, CO Larimer Lounge
09/21/18 Fri Lincoln, NE Lincoln Calling Lincoln Calling Music Festival
09/22/18 Sat Grinnell, IA Gardner Lounge
09/23/18 Sun St Paul, MN Turf Club
09/25/18 Tue Milwaukee, WI The Cactus Club
09/26/18 Wed St Louis, MO The Monocle
09/27/18 Thu Indianapolis, IN State Street Pub
09/28/18 Fri Knoxville, TN The Pilot Light
09/29/18 Sat Asheville, NC The Mothlight with Ahleuchatistas
09/30/18 Sun Durham, NC The Pinhook
10/01/18 Mon Baltimore, MD Metro Gallery
10/04/18 Thu Gambier, OH Horn Gallery
11/06/18 Tue Portland, ME State Theatre with Iron & Wine
11/07/18 Wed Huntington, NY Paramount Theatre with Iron & Wine
11/08/18 Thu Glenside, PA Keswick Theatre with Iron & Wine
11/09/18 Fri Norfolk, VA The Norva with Iron & Wine
11/10/18 Sat Raleigh, NC Meymandi Concert Hall with Iron & Wine
11/12/18 Mon Nashville, TN Ryman Auditorium with Iron & Wine
11/14/18 Wed Augusta, GA Miller Theater with Iron & Wine
11/15/18 Thu Tampa, FL Tampa Theatre with Iron & Wine
11/16/18 Fri Atlanta, GA The Buckhead Theatre with Iron & Wine
11/17/18 Sat Memphis, TN Orpheum Theatre with Iron & Wine
Avails
2019:For Support / Package
Submit an inquiry
Contacts
Responsible Agent:
Natasha Parish

Pitch Perfect PR