flower booking

Joan of Arc
Twenty years now there’s been this thing, our band, Joan of Arc. Sometimes we forget about it and let it fizzle out for a year while we tend to our lives. Sometimes we cling to it for a year and wake up surprised and exhausted every day for months on end, given walking tours of old Italian towns, browsing dreary British pedestrian malls or barefooted organic grocers on the Pacific coast. We know how lucky we are.

The less we feel like a band—the more we can continue to be a band, but escape that feeling of doing all those shitty, corny things expected of bands—the truer to ourselves we feel. And you all know it, everyone knows it even if everyone has to bury it to get on with their day-to-day: the truer to ourselves we feel, the better everything gets. We have shifted shapes and modified our approaches quite a number of times in the course of twenty years. And we’ve done so always aiming to stay true to ourselves at that moment, by instinct and with conscious intent. This time, it took us a long time to figure out how to start back up. We threw away a lot of songs and started over, over and over.

But here’s the thing: We are getting better at being ourselves. So many of the postures of youth just fall away with time. Most bands break up by that point, or become caricatures of their younger selves. Because money is tricky, or I should say, it comes to be that energy is tricky to muster after all of it goes into the basics of sustaining yourself.

Every day, at some point, it occurs to me that Richard Brautigan killed himself at the age that I am now. But I got this community of weirdo collaborators to lean on that he never had.

We’ve never had an audience that gets any validation of its coolness through liking us. We’ve mangled, juxtaposed, and collaged too many elements for that social contract. But we trust each other.

This time, finally, we trusted each other enough to throw all the songs away, to even throw away every preconceived idea about which one of us should take position at which instrument. We hit Record and played, and our collective tastes emerged. And they, our tastes in the moment, were the only standards in all the expanse of the stupefying and beautiful unknown universe, that we regarded as relevant in the least.

- Tim Kinsella

Joan of Arc
Twenty years now there’s been this thing, our band, Joan of Arc. Sometimes we forget about it and let it fizzle out for a year while we tend to our lives. Sometimes we cling to it for a year and wake... + more bio

Tour Dates
Date Location Venue
07/11/18 Wed Tustin, CA Marty's on Newport
07/12/18 Thu Los Angeles, CA The Echo
07/13/18 Fri San Francisco, CA Bottom of the Hill
07/14/18 Sat Chico, CA Duffys Tavern
07/16/18 Mon Portland, OR Tonic Lounge with Luke Wyland
07/17/18 Tue Seattle, WA The Vera Project
08/02/18 Thu Louisville, KY Kaiju
08/03/18 Fri Nashville, TN The High Watt
08/04/18 Sat Asheville, NC The Mothlight
08/05/18 Sun Carrboro, NC Cat's Cradle - Backroom
08/07/18 Tue Washington, DC DC9
08/08/18 Wed Philadelphia, PA The Boot & Saddle with Corey Flood
08/09/18 Thu Brooklyn, NY Rough Trade with B Boys
08/10/18 Fri Asbury Park, NJ Asbury Lanes with B Boys
08/11/18 Sat Cambridge, MA The Middle East - Upstairs with B Boys
08/12/18 Sun Montreal, QC, Canada Bar Le "Ritz" P.D.B. with B Boys
08/14/18 Tue Toronto, ON, Canada Baby G with B Boys
08/15/18 Wed Pittsburgh, PA Club Cafe with B Boys
08/16/18 Thu Detroit, MI El Club
08/17/18 Fri Chicago, Il Sleeping Village
08/18/18 Sat Milwaukee, WI The Back Room @ Colectivo Coffee
Avails
Generally Available:Special Situations
Submit an inquiry
Contacts
Responsible Agent:
Tim Edwards