flower booking

Ted Leo
Ted Leo is one of the finest songwriters of our generation, even if it’s not entirely clear what generation that is. Starting in New York Hardcore with Citizen’s Arrest, making the ‘90s safe for power-pop and Weller-esque hair with Chisel, then singing our turbulent lives like we were smarter than we were with The Pharmacists, and most recently providing equal parts sweetness and solace with Aimee Mann as The Both, Ted never let us down. And now, seven years after The Brutalist Bricks, he has a new solo album. And it’s wonderful.

The songs on The Hanged Man, recorded at a home-studio-in-transition in Wakefield, RI, with Ted playing almost all the instruments, are some of the finest and most finely wrought of Ted Leo’s career. Ted describes the time working on the album as one of “personal desolation that felt fallow but was actually very fertile” and, indeed, lyrically, The Hanged Man is suffused with hope of sorts but crushingly heavy. The concerns addressed, whether personal trauma or the national disaster we’re all currently existing in, matched with the range and vitality of the songcraft is inspiring, even uplifting.

The Hanged Man offers the sharp bursts of skinny tie pop-punk fury one would expect from Ted—and even these feel streamlined like never before—but they are offset with an adventurousness in both tone and structure. The intention was to upend expectations but, on songs like the bookends of “Moon Out of Phase” and “Let’s Stay On The Moon,” the intention never gets in the way of the result. There’s no strain of effort in songs that are unlike anything Ted has done previously. The Hanged Man is a career high, born through industry soul sickness, nausea-inducing crisis, and a talent that feels like secular grace.

Ted Leo
Ted Leo is one of the finest songwriters of our generation, even if it’s not entirely clear what generation that is. Starting in New York Hardcore with Citizen’s Arrest, making the ‘90s safe for... + more bio

Tour Dates
Date Location Venue
09/14/17 Thu Philadelphia, PA Union Transfer Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with Amanda X
09/15/17 Fri Washington, DC Black Cat Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with TK Echo
09/16/17 Sat Washington, DC Black Cat Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with Soccer Team
09/17/17 Sun Allston, MA Brighton Music Hall Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with Thalia Zedek
09/19/17 Tue Toronto, ON, Canada Lee's Palace Ted Leo and the Pharmacists
09/20/17 Wed Detroit, MI Magic Stick Ted Leo and the Pharmacists
09/22/17 Fri Chicago, IL Goose Island Brewery Goose Island 312 Block Party
09/23/17 Sat Cleveland, OH Grog Shop Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with Obnox
09/24/17 Sun Pittsburgh, PA Spirit Hall Ted Leo and the Pharmacists
10/23/17 Mon Richmond, VA Strange Matter Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with IAN SWEET
10/24/17 Tue Carrboro, NC Cat's Cradle Ted Leo and the Pharmacists
10/25/17 Wed Atlanta, GA The Masquerade - Hell Stage Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with IAN SWEET
10/27/17 Fri Dallas, TX Club Dada Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with IAN SWEET
10/28/17 Sat Austin, TX Mohawk Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with IAN SWEET
10/30/17 Mon Santa Fe, NM Meow Wolf Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with IAN SWEET
10/31/17 Tue Phoenix, AZ Valley Bar Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with IAN SWEET
11/01/17 Wed San Diego, CA Casbah Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with IAN SWEET
11/03/17 Fri Los Angeles, CA The Teragram Ballroom Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with IAN SWEET
11/04/17 Sat San Francisco, CA Bimbo's 365 Club Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with IAN SWEET
11/06/17 Mon Portland, OR Revolution Hall Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with IAN SWEET
11/07/17 Tue Vancouver, BC, Canada The Cobalt Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with IAN SWEET
11/08/17 Wed Seattle, WA The Crocodile Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with IAN SWEET
11/11/17 Sat Minneapolis, MN Triple Rock Social Club Ted Leo and the Pharmacists
11/13/17 Mon Columbus, OH Skully's Music Diner Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with IAN SWEET
11/14/17 Tue Baltimore, MD Ottobar Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with IAN SWEET
12/02/17 Sat Providence, RI Columbus Theatre Ted Leo and the Pharmacistswith Bill Janovitz
12/03/17 Sun Portland, ME Port City Music Hall Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with Sad13
12/04/17 Mon Burlington, VT Arts Riot Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with Sad13
12/05/17 Tue Montreal, QC, Canada La Sala Rossa Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with Sad13
12/07/17 Thu Ithaca, NY The Haunt Ted Leo and the Pharmacists
12/08/17 Fri Hamden, CT The Ballroom at The Outer Space Ted Leo and the Pharmacists with Sad13
12/09/17 Sat Brooklyn, NY Music Hall of Williamsburg Ted Leo and the Pharmacists
Avails
2017:Special Situations
Submit an inquiry